Discovery Gaming Community
The Improbable Task - Printable Version

+- Discovery Gaming Community (https://discoverygc.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Role-Playing (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+--- Forum: Stories and Biographies (https://discoverygc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=56)
+--- Thread: The Improbable Task (/showthread.php?tid=131815)

The Improbable Task - Remnant - 07-21-2015

-- Log 1 --

Well, I have no idea what the hell I got myself into. All I know right now, is this is going to be extremely interesting.

So the task was rather straightforward. Creating a system which is able to detect cloaked vessels. Luckily I have some experience with cloaking systems. The unlucky part? It's nothing standard. Thankfully, physics doesn't like to give people too many options. Both concepts that I am aware of have close to the same laws operating behind them. This also apparently true when it comes to what you can 'see' when sending out signals. Guess what. What you can 'see' is pretty much nothing. I wouldn't be here if it was that easy, eh?

The team that i've been given the head of are great people. They're people who obviously have research as a profession. They were more than happy to answer the questions I had when I arrived. They don't even seem very put off by my eccentric attitude. I think they enjoy it, although then again, I think everyone enjoys it. I know i'm wrong too on that one.

Well, that's not why you're reading this log. You're here to read about the progress that we've been making. Lets get started.

First things first. When you're trying to figure out a detection system, you have to run tests on everything observable. What can you see. - I wouldn't be here if you 'could' see things. Sonar, standard radar technology, none of it gives any reading. It merely says what you're pointing at is empty space.